Grantees News and Recognition

The Better India has won the Abby Award for its branded content series ‘Breaking Barriers’ in partnership with Unilever. Nieman’s Lab did a piece on The Better India’s unique approach to journalism.

The News Minute won the  Kerala Media Award for Reportage on Child Rights 2016-2017, organised jointly by UNICEF and Kerala Child Rights Observatory. This is for their joint story on child marriages in Malappuram. Editor-in-Chief Dhanya Rajendran was also featured on the Fortune 40 under 40 List this year.

Live Law was awarded the  Best Legal News Portal of the Year 2017 by the Indian National Bar Association [INBA] in November last year. Each year, INBA felicitates the Individuals, In-house Counsels, Law Firms and Subject Experts who performed exceptionally well in their respective fields. After 2 successful editions, INBA is announcing its 3rd edition of awards on 68th Constitution Day under various categories of excellence.

In April 2017, in a three-part series, IndiaSpend examined what living with disability in India means, particularly with regard to access to education and employment, 22 years after the Persons with Disabilities (Equal Opportunities, Protection of Rights and Full Participation) Act was passed. This series won the Special Jury Award at the Press Institute of India-International Committee of the Red Cross Awards.

Siddharth Varadarajan, the founding editor of The Wire, has been named the 2017 recipient of the Shorenstein Journalism Award. The award, given annually by Stanford University’s Walter H. Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center (APARC), is conferred upon a journalist who has produced outstanding reporting on Asia and has contributed significantly to the Western understanding of the region. Varadarajan will headline a panel discussion on April 16, 2018, at Stanford.

© 2019 | All Rights Reserved. Designed By Ascimatics Labs Pvt Ltd